Angela Himsel

Angela Himsel is a freelance writer in New York City. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, The Jewish Week, the Forward and Lilith, and she received an American Jewish Press Association Award for her column “Angetevka” on Angela holds a BA from Indiana University, which included two years at The Hebrew University in Jerusalem, and an MFA from The City College of New York.

David Hirshberg

David Hirshberg is the pseudonym for an entrepreneur who prefers to keep his business activities separate from his writing endeavors. As an author, he adopted the first name of his father-in-law and the last name of his maternal grandfather, as a tribute to their impact on his life.

Using his given name, he is an accomplished ‘C-level suite’ executive, having served in the life sciences industry as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of four firms, Chairman of the Board of six companies and a member of the board of three other organizations. In addition, he is the founder and CEO of a publishing company.

Hirshberg is a New Yorker who holds an undergraduate degree from Dartmouth College and a master’s degree from the University of Pennsylvania.

Abigail Pogrebin

Abigail Pogrebin, a former 60 Minutes producer, is the author of Stars of David: Prominent Jews Talk About Being Jewish (Doubleday/Broadway Books), which went into eight hardcover printings, was featured on Good Morning America and Charlie Rose, and was adapted for the Off-Broadway stage in a Daryl Roth production. Pogrebin’s second book was a deep examination of twinship titled One and the Same: My Life as an Identical Twin and What I’ve Learned About Everyone’s Struggle to be Singular, published in 2009 and featured on The Today Show and NPR and in Newsweek. Pogrebin is also the author of Showstopper, a bestselling Kindle Single about her adventure in the original cast of the Sondheim misfire, "Merrily We Roll Along.” She has written for numerous publications including Newsweek, New York magazine, The Daily Beast, the Forward and Tablet.

Ben Nadler

Ben Nadler is the author of the novel Harvitz, As to War (Iron Diesel Press) and several chapbooks, including Punk in NYC’s Lower East Side, 1981-1991 (Microcosm Publishing) and The Men Who Work Under the Ground (Keep This Bag Away From Children Press). A poetry and comic collaboration chapbook is forthcoming with the visual artist Alyssa Berg. Nadler earned a BA from Eugene Lang College of The New School and an MFA from The City College of New York/CUNY. He has taught at City College, Eugene Lang College, and The College of New Rochelle – School of New Resources in the South Bronx. A former Manhattan street vendor, he has also worked in bookstores across New York, Chicago, and the San Francisco Bay Area. He lives in Brooklyn.

Edward Lewis Wallant

When he died at 36 in December 1962, Edward Lewis Wallant had published two novels: The Human Season (1960), which received the Harry and Ethel Daroff Memorial Fiction Award for the year’s best novel on a Jewish theme, and The Pawnbroker (1961), which was a National Book Award finalist. Two additional novels—The Children at the Gate and Moonbloom—were published posthumously. The Daroff Award was subsequently re-named in Wallant’s honor: The Edward Lewis Wallant Award is now presented annually at the University of Hartford in the late author's home state of Connecticut; recipients have included Chaim Potok, Cynthia Ozick, Francine Prose, and Dara Horn.

Meyer Levin

Throughout his 60 years of professional work, Levin was a constant innovator, reinventing himself and stretching his literary style with astonishing versatility. From the early documentary experimentation shown in The Reporter to the wildly satiric black humor of Gore and Igor (1969), from the industrial novel Citizens (1940) to the historic epic The Settlers (1972), Levin was attuned to changes in society and structured his work for the times while never compromising his own inner vision. Perhaps Levin’s best-known work is Compulsion (1956), chronicling the Leopold and Loeb case. When Meyer Levin died in 1981 he left a remarkable and diverse literary legacy that not only reflected the life he led but chronicled the development of Jewish consciousness during this century. Levin’s evolution paralleled that of the generation of which he was part, and it is for that reason that he is considered by many today as the most significant American Jewish writer of the twentieth century.

Jonathan Papernick

Jonathan Papernick is the author of the story collections The Ascent of Eli Israel and There Is No Other. His fiction has appeared in numerous literary journals and anthologies. Dara Horn calls Papernick “an utterly original writer,” and The New York Times writes, “There is a muscular certainty to the best of Papernick’s stories.” He lives outside Boston with his wife and two sons and is a Senior Writer-in-Residence at a Boston-area college.Follow him on Twitter: @JonnyPapers

Jessamyn Hope

Safekeeping is Jessamyn Hope’s debut novel. Her short fiction and memoirs have appeared in PloughsharesPRISM International and other literary magazines. Recent accolades include two Pushcart Prize honorable mentions, in 2015 and 2016, and selection for Best Canadian Essays 2015. She was the Susannah McCorkle Scholar in Fiction at the 2012 Sewanee Writers' Conference and has an MFA in creative writing from Sarah Lawrence College. Born and raised in Montreal, she lived in Israel before moving to New York City. Learn more at

Alan Cheuse

Prior to his passing on July 31, 2015, Alan Cheuse had been reviewing books on NPR's All Things Considered since the 1980s. He was the author of five novels, half a dozen collections of short stories and novellas, and the memoir Fall Out of Heaven. Cheuse taught writing at George Mason University near Washington, DC, spent his summers in Santa Cruz, CA, and led fiction workshops at the Squaw Valley Community of Writers.