Reviews

Pogrebin Jewish Year

MY JEWISH YEAR is the Work of a “Gifted Wordsmith,” Says This Reviewer

March 15, 2017

“Abigail Pogrebin is a gifted wordsmith. Her one-year exploration into Jewish holidays is at times amusing, irreverent, evocative, fascinating, and enlightening. She proffers an intimate and deeply personal understanding of her own Jewish experience; and she delivers a depth of understanding of Jewish holidays, laws, rituals, prayers, and behaviors, made more relevant by commentaries and explanations from wide-ranging perspectives.”

Read More

Pogrebin Jewish Year

The Jewish Book Council Reviews Abigail Pogrebin’s “Adventures in Judaism”

March 13, 2017

“The book chronicles Pogrebin’s adventures in Judaism, from Elul, the period of reflection that precedes Rosh Hashanah, to the final Shabbat of the year. Pogrebin logged her thoughts, feelings, and experiences in detail while interviewing dozens of rabbis and Jewish academics on the Torah and observing the holidays at synagogues of all denominations….”

Read More

Pogrebin Jewish Year
Foreword Jewish Year

“An Invaluable Text”: FOREWORD REVIEWS on MY JEWISH YEAR

January 30, 2017

My Jewish Year is an invaluable text, both for learning about Jewish holidays and for understanding how contemporary people work to find personal meaning in inherited traditions.”

Read More

Pogrebin Jewish Year
Booklist Jewish Year

A “Frank Reckoning” and Much More: BOOKLIST on MY JEWISH YEAR

January 26, 2017

“[My Jewish Year] is a frank reckoning with the author’s own heart, but it’s also about the myriad ways Jews relate to each other. Jewish and non-Jewish readers alike will appreciate this thoughtful and intimate journey….”

Read More

Pogrebin Jewish Year
Library Journal My Jewish Year

LIBRARY JOURNAL Lauds MY JEWISH YEAR

January 12, 2017

“Verdict: A modern take on a pilgrim’s journal, this account will offer insight for Jewish and non-Jewish readers alike. Readers who are interested in becoming more observant will find it especially worthwhile.”

Read More

Pogrebin Jewish Year

Lovely LILITH Review for MY JEWISH YEAR

January 11, 2017

“Ultimately, and movingly, [Pogrebin] finds herself at the end of the year reawakened to ‘klal Israel, the whole of Israel: a shared inheritance, and reverence for a calendar that has kept us intact.’”

Read More

Pogrebin Jewish Year

KIRKUS on MY JEWISH YEAR’s “Deep Faith” and “Rich Vitality”

January 10, 2017

“The graceful value of Pogrebin’s tract is the deep faith and rich vitality evident in her up-close and personal Jewish year.”

Read More

Pogrebin Jewish Year
Jewish Year

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY’s Praise for MY JEWISH YEAR

January 9, 2017

“Can a 50-something neophyte glean meaning about herself and the world from observing all 18 annual Jewish holidays in a year of personal exploration? Pogrebin (Stars of David) provides a vigorous and moving affirmative answer in this insightful, clever, funny, and compulsively readable volume that will lead newcomers to seek out her other writings.”

Read More

NYPL Librarian “Really Loved” SAFEKEEPING

March 3, 2016

“I really loved it.” Part of librarian Gwen Glazer’s rave for Jessamyn Hope’s Safekeeping on an episode of the NYPL podcast, “The Librarian Is In” (if you’re in a hurry, you can listen in at the 6:50 mark).

Read More

Wallant

THE PAWNBROKER in the CHICAGO JEWISH STAR

February 15, 2016

“Although actor Rod Steiger played opposite such Hollywood greats as Marlon Brando, Jack Palance and Humphrey Bogart, he considered his best work was in Sidney Lumet’s 1964 film ‘The Pawnbroker,’ where he played Holocaust survivor Sol Nazerman, the pawnbroker of the title.”

Read More